[Asis-l] Nominations invited for the Downs Intellectual Freedom Award

Schmidt, Kimberly Rae kimsch at illinois.edu
Tue Jun 26 15:20:32 EDT 2012

[Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: C:\Users\kimsch\Desktop\wordmark_final-black-scalable.jpg]

June 26, 2012
For Immediate Release


URBANA-CHAMPAIGN, IL-GSLIS seeks nominations for the Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award. The deadline for nominations is October 1, 2012.

Given annually, the award acknowledges individuals or groups who have furthered the cause of intellectual freedom, particularly as it impacts libraries and information centers and the dissemination of ideas. Granted to those who have resisted censorship or efforts to abridge the freedom of individuals to read or view materials of their choice, the award may be in recognition of a particular action or a long-term interest in and dedication to the cause of intellectual freedom.

The Robert B. Downs Intellectual Freedom Award was established in 1969 by the GSLIS faculty to honor Dean Emeritus Downs, a champion of intellectual freedom, on the occasion of his 25th anniversary as director of the School.

Previous winners have included Marianna Tax Choldin (2011) for her international work in educating librarians about intellectual freedom; the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund for its consistent dedication to the active defense of First Amendment rights (2010); the West Bend (WI) Community Memorial Library for its steadfast advocacy on behalf of intellectual freedom in the face of a library challenge (2009); Brewster Kahle and the Internet Archive for their successful challenge to a national security letter (2008); and Barbara M. Jones, director of the ALA Office for Intellectual Freedom and executive director of the Freedom to Read Foundation, who was honored for her international work on behalf of intellectual freedom (2007).

The ABC-CLIO Publishing Company provides an honorarium to the recipient and co-hosts the reception in honor of the recipient. The reception and award ceremony for the 2012 Downs Intellectual Freedom Award will take place in January 2013 during the American Library Association's Midwinter Meeting in Seattle, Washington.

Letters of nomination and documentation about the nominee should be sent by e-mail to weech at illinois.edu<mailto:weech at illinois.edu> with a copy to gslisdean at illinois.edu<mailto:gslisdean at illinois.edu> or in paper form to Terry Weech, Associate Professor, GSLIS, 501 East Daniel Street, Champaign, IL 61820 by October 1, 2012. Questions should be directed to Associate Professor Terry Weech at weech at illinois.edu<mailto:weech at illinois.edu>.

More information about the award is available at www.lis.illinois.edu/about-gslis/awards/downs-award<http://www.lis.illinois.edu/about-gslis/awards/downs-award>.

Kim Schmidt
Director of Publications and Media Relations
Graduate School of Library and Information Science
501 East Daniel Street
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 265-6391

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://mail.asis.org/pipermail/asis-l/attachments/20120626/9ac7ee8d/attachment.html 
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: image001.jpg
Type: image/jpeg
Size: 7703 bytes
Desc: image001.jpg
Url : http://mail.asis.org/pipermail/asis-l/attachments/20120626/9ac7ee8d/attachment.jpg 

More information about the Asis-l mailing list